Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-31-2010, 11:56 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Suggestions for first DSLR??

As of right now I've got an MZ-7 film SLR w/ FA 28-70 f/4. The timeline I've got in mind is something like this: get a 50/1.4 in the next few months, and upgrade to a DSLR in the next year or so. I want to stay with Pentax, so I'm looking at the K-x as a "new" option, and also considering the K10D and K20D if I can find them used.

What I'm wondering is if there are any compelling reasons to go for the K-x instead of the olders cameras? I'm fairly new to photography, so I'm thinking maybe I don't really need a brand new camera yet, just something to learn on and upgrade later.

05-31-2010, 11:58 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I have the same situiation as you . I decided to go K-X with the 2 lenses Kit. I have no regret. With the money save, I bought exrra lenses
05-31-2010, 01:48 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I've been researching the K-X all around the 'net and hear nothing but great reviews!

And all the colors to choose from :
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
NIKON D5000  Photo 
05-31-2010, 02:30 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Not all colors are available in North america. Again no kit with 2 lenses on any color except black

05-31-2010, 02:46 PM   #5
Veteran Member

I'm going to get a white one with a single kit lens I see them on eBay for $485 (US) shipped.

Now where did I put that $485 ???
05-31-2010, 03:09 PM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by miltllama Quote
As of right now I've got an MZ-7 film SLR w/ FA 28-70 f/4. The timeline I've got in mind is something like this: get a 50/1.4 in the next few months, and upgrade to a DSLR in the next year or so. I want to stay with Pentax, so I'm looking at the K-x as a "new" option, and also considering the K10D and K20D if I can find them used.