Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-03-2010, 02:22 PM   #1

External flash help?!

I have a Pentax K200D and I recently got an external flash. The piece that connects the flash to the camera broke. I think the piece may be called the foot. I'm not sure. I'm new to the whole flash idea. I was just wondering if anone knows how I can get it replaced. I took it to Ritz Camera and they said it would probably cost more to repair than to buy a new flash. Any ideas on where I can just buy the specific part I need? I think I can replace it myself. Thanks!

06-03-2010, 03:58 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Don't know what brand flash that it. I had the same problem with my Pentax 360 flash. The part was $6 from Pentax but I had to get the service manual and order the part. The repair was actually quite complicated as there aren't that many parts but all those little pins have to be desodered and resodered as well as put in a particular way. I'm not sure I'd do it again.

If it were me, I'd have it repair cost estimated before I decided to toss it. If a new flash is $200+ and the repair was less than that, I'd get it repaired. It's like a $6 part and an hour of work for a skilled guy. It took me a half a day to fuss with it.

I can't find it now but Peter Zack on this site had a really good thread on doing this for a Pentax 360 flash. Lots of pictures. BTW if you do this, take detailed pictures of the disassembly - it will help a great deal later.

Oh, you can get part by first contacting Pentax in Colorado from their website info.
06-03-2010, 04:06 PM   #3
Ira
Inactive Account

Have you used this flash yet on the DSLR?

That might be a flash for a FILM camera, with a different voltage than a DSLR can handle.

WHAT'S THE MODEL NAME AND # OF THE FLASH!?
06-04-2010, 05:47 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Ira Quote
Have you used this flash yet on the DSLR?