Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-05-2010, 11:32 PM   #1
Forum Member

Suggestions for begginer settings K-x please

I am a complete begginer to photography and DSLR, I have just bought a K-x with 18-55 kit lens. I am wanting to take photos of my son who is 2 and never still even when he is sitting still.
I am studying my manual and some books recommended on this forum to try and grasp the basics, but this is a steep learning curve. I want to learn to use the camera without just using Auto settings ( which i can see though better than my current Manual attemts are pretty average)I need some advice or suggestions for which settings I should try on my camera to give me the best use of its features.
I can see from reading here that center focus and recompose is a poular method but with a moving subject this is proving difficult. I don't want to leave him in the center of the frame in every shot but I am getting shots of in focus shoulders and chairs instead of eyes and nose. Which focus mode would be best single or continuous, single or multi point focus etc. I can see that apperture affects the amount of focus/DOF so what sort of f value should I be using to capture a child, Any advice or suggestions would help as I am stuck. Thanks mel

06-06-2010, 12:21 AM   #2
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by kangamel Quote
I am a complete begginer to photography and DSLR, I have just bought a K-x with 18-55 kit lens. I am wanting to take photos of my son who is 2 and never still even when he is sitting still.