Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-19-2010, 02:02 PM   #1
Inactive Account

New Lens for my first DSLR - Pentax KX

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

HI,

Im very new to DSLR photography, my father and granfather were both photographers and it was only a matter of time before i myself got into it. Well now its that time and I have bought myself a Pentax KX with 18-55mm Kit lens, the kit lens is good but im really looking for a telezoom lens. Iv looked into the DA 55-300mm and pentax DA 55-200mm. Im not looking to spend anymore than £200 but prefeerably less, is there any other options in the telezoom lens department apart from the two i have mentioned ? also looking at other kind of lens, especially wideangle lens.
Any opinions and ideas are welcome and i would be very grateful for any info posted.

Thanks

Andy

06-19-2010, 03:22 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The 55-300 is considered to be an excellent lens on a price/quality ratio.
06-19-2010, 06:49 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
The Pentax 50-200, Sigma 70-300 APO version and Tamron 70-300 are in the same image quality ballpark with minor discrepancies. The 55-300 is noticeably sharper, and an excellent value.
06-20-2010, 04:16 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks for the help guys it has been really useful. Iv seen a used sigma lens on ebay, it seems like i good deal to me but iv added the link if anyone could let me know what they think also its buy it now but also allows offers, so if you could let me know what price is right for it.

Pentax AF K-fit 75-300mm f4.5 Lens Sigma For Kx KM Etc on eBay (end time 27-Jun-10 18:24:46 BST)

Again thank you for any help given

Andy

06-20-2010, 06:52 AM   #5
Site Supporter