Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-25-2010, 07:04 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
AF is noisy

Hi all,

I was just wondering about Pentax lenses' AF noise level compared to the other brands. I'm pretty new to DSLR so please excuse my ignorance.

Lately I have been noticing that the AF noise of all the Pentax lenses I own are pretty loud; I have the K-x kit lens, DA 55-300 and the newly acquired DA 35mm Ltd. It's not much of a problem outdoors, which is probably why I haven't noticed it much until now, since I spent most of the time shooting outdoors. But whenever I try to take a shot inside, everyone's head would turn to me due to the high pitch, motor noise. I don't recall hearing that when my buddies shoot with their Canons (but maybe I just wasn't really paying attention).

I'm sure many of you have used multiple brands so how do they compare and how do you get around the noise? I read some people use MF a lot but I'm still terrible at it so I'm also wondering if there are other ways to mitigate the problem?

06-25-2010, 07:14 AM   #2
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by ruggiex Quote
Hi all,

I was just wondering about Pentax lenses' AF noise level compared to the other brands. I'm pretty new to DSLR so please excuse my ignorance.

Lately I have been noticing that the AF noise of all the Pentax lenses I own are pretty loud; I have the K-x kit lens, DA 55-300 and the newly acquired DA 35mm Ltd. It's not much of a problem outdoors, which is probably why I haven't noticed it much until now, since I spent most of the time shooting outdoors. But whenever I try to take a shot inside, everyone's head would turn to me due to the high pitch, motor noise. I don't recall hearing that when my buddies shoot with their Canons (but maybe I just wasn't really paying attention).