Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-27-2010, 12:24 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Favorite exposure modes?

Hello fellow Pentaxians!

I just got a K-7 this weekend and started trying it out. While I'm not new to DSLR's, I am new to Pentax and their vary unique exposure modes.

I find that the two modes that seem to work best for me (with my hair-breadth of experience) are TAv and USER (also set in TAv mode) for normal shooting. The primer I use for capturing moving targets (my 1 yr old daughter running around the back yard), and the latter for artistic shots.

The only difference I set between the two modes was the behavior of the green button. In TAv, the green button readjusts the aperture while locking the shutter speed. This allows me to keep my shutter speed at around 1/100 - 1/200 to capture my hyper kid, but I can quickly adjust back the aperture if I see a cool shot that needs shallow/deep DOF.

In USER I have it set exactly the same as TAv, but the green button adjusts the shutter speed while the aperture stays fixed. This seems like a better approach when I'm just taking landscape/still life shots.

The only problem with this is that I need to push the green button anytime I see my ISO creep up or blink at 100. I haven't done enough shooting with it yet to tell if this is going to be an issue or not. Otherwise I can just go back to using Tv and Av as on my previous DSLRs.

So what do you guys usually shoot on for walk around and running kid shots? How about the Program mode, is it useful or just a novelty? And what ISO range do you guys use? So far I've left mine on 100-6400 and "slow" ascension; I figure it's more important to get the shot than have it be underexposed, but then again I may be naive.