Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-04-2010, 06:01 AM   #1
Forum Member

question about testing lens quality

Hi everyone,
I am new to SLR phtography - got my Pentax k-x ~1 month ago. After some research online, I decided that the Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 would best suit my needs at this point (obviously a big debate by itself, lets say I think it would be best to have some zoom while I try to take pics of my kids mainly indoors). I have read about some QC issues with that lens, so I avoided buying a used one - bought from amazon, return options and 6 year warranty. I just got it yesterday. How should I check whether it has decentering issues etc? I found some info online but not much. I dont have a tripod or test charts. I took some pictures at the yard, stucco wall with some flowers etc, which I think is a fairly decent amateur setup. I even took some upside-down shots and tested various apertures. My impression is that there is some edge softness at 2.8, less at 4 and nothing I can appreciate above that. Is that a normal result (I think it should be, given the focusing effects at wide apertures)? I'd appreciate any feedback - and be happy to post pics if I knew how and if anyone cared to see them...
(an unrelated Q, if anybody is using Lightroom, is there a way to delete the pics from the disk after importing? Windows could do this, now LR has taken over and I cant figure it out - other than dleting them or formatting the card)
Thanks
Thomas

07-04-2010, 07:03 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Morning and welcome to the Forums!