Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-04-2010, 01:59 PM   #1
Inactive Account

ND Graduated Filters and tripod for Pentax KX

I am looking a buying some ND graduated Filters for my Pentax KX, I v looked into the Cokin P series, but again i don't know a lot about this area as I'm new to photography. The main reason i would buy these filters is because i do a lot of mountain climbing and hiking so majority of my shots will be landscape.
Also Im looking for a good sturdy tripod that allows me to strap it to my hiking pack and go for climb/walk without being laden down by the sheer weight of the thing.
Any help would be amazing

Thanks Guys

07-04-2010, 02:14 PM   #2
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I wouldn't be too concerned with graduated neutral density filters to start. I would first get more familiar with polarizers.

I understand your thinking--that somehow, the sky always overexposes. But this is only the case certain times of the day. In addition, properly positioning/sliding ND filters is not as easy as it looks.

I'm a big Cokin fan, and while many here complain about the quality of the actual glass, to me, it's the best all-round solution out there.

According to the kind of shooting you say you like to do, and that you're going to be bringing a tripod, I say forget about ND filters AND polarizers for now, and get into HDR--high dynamic range--where you shoot several exposures of the same scene and then combine them in a PP program.
07-04-2010, 03:37 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Ira Quote
I wouldn't be too concerned with graduated neutral density filters to start. I would first get more familiar with polarizers.

I understand your thinking--that somehow, the sky always overexposes. But this is only the case certain times of the day. In addition, properly positioning/sliding ND filters is not as easy as it looks.