Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-06-2010, 08:17 PM   #1
Veteran Member

SR and fast shutter speeds

What is the story with using SR and fast shutter speeds? I haven't found any definite answers.

I'm planning on using shutter speeds of 1/500, 1/640, 1/1000, sometimes on a tripod and sometimes handheld, panning will only be used to follow the subject and not to add a sense of motion. Will SR improve, degrade, or have no affect at those speeds? (K7 and Kx with latest firmware if that matters)

I'd love some help, even if it's just people who have been around longer pointing me at some links that google couldn't find

For the past 6 months I've taken %99 of my shots on a tripod and have generally avoided handholding and fast shutter speed, but this winter I'm planning on getting a lot of action shots at the mountain and am a total beginner in this area,

07-06-2010, 08:27 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
With a tripod, you shouldn't. The camera will have a long lever arm and it doesn't expect it.

Panning and with a monopod I've heard mixed stories, I always just leave it on.

I don't believe I've heard of SR degrading with only a fast shutter speed.

SR is said to work best not only after the icon lights up at around 1second, but improves after 1.3s. At least someone said so on here or DPR, perhaps with tests.

As a result of that and the desire to add pseudo quick-shift to every AF lens I own (hold lens release), I set my camera to only AF with the AF button, and half-press long before I shoot.
07-06-2010, 09:34 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter