Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-09-2010, 06:52 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Diopiter on KX for specticle wearers

Hi,
I've been saving for a few months now for a DSLR and after anoying shopkeepers all over Yorkshire with questions and requests to hold and take shots with Nikon 3/5000's, Canon 1000/550's(I think) and Sony and Olympus models and reading literally 100's of reviews, have decided on the Pentax KX for a number of reasons.

I digress...

My question is for those of you who are glasses wearers.

Do you take off your specs and use the Diopitor thingie or just leave them on?

I currently have a -2.5 prescription and the KX goes down to this but it's possible that my prescription will drop down to a -4/5.

If you do use this function... How are the results? Am I best just using my glasses?

Advance Thank you's and
Roll on payday!!

07-09-2010, 07:00 AM   #2
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I take my glasses off, and I'm pushing the limits of the diopter too.

See how it works taking your glasses off, and if you need it, you can always get a magnifier, even though they're no walk in the park either.
07-09-2010, 07:04 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I have to wear my glasses as I am extremely near-sighted and have astigmatism. I have just had to get used to not being able to see the info line in the view finder when I'm outside.
07-09-2010, 07:07 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I have to wear my glasses. My Rx is -3.25, and I have astigmatism. I wear a weaker Rx at my computer (-2.5), and I sometimes find myself outside wearing my computer glasses. In that case I use my Kx's diopter adjustment plus glasses. I did add a Pentax magnifying eyepiece, and that helps too.

I sure wish I could go without glasses, but no such luck.

07-09-2010, 07:25 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster