Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-09-2010, 09:30 AM   #1

New to DSLR Help Please!?

I am interested in moving to a DSLR from the many point-n-shoots I have owned in the past. My father-in-law has offered to sell me his old Pentax equipment. The thing is, the equipment was designed for a Pentax ME Super 35mm and I am concerned with compatibility and ease of use. The lenses are a 135mm, a 200mm, a doubler, a wide angle and a flash. My question is: is it worth it to purchase a Pentax brand DSLR in order to use the older lenses? From my understanding, there are some issues with using older 35mm lenses on new DSLRs due to the size of the optic sensor vs film. Also, lenses that are that old I doubt have auto-focus. I am very new to DSLR and I just need some direction on a good way to start my venture into DSLR photography. I don't want to start off with a bad combination of equipment especially when I am just learning. Money is also a concern so the answer I am looking for is not "just go buy a Nikon D3X with all the lenses and you'll be good." My "starting" budget is around $700 total and I am open to used/refurbished equipment. Thanks!

07-09-2010, 09:44 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
i think you should try the pentax k-x with two kit lenses. that would give you most bang for the buck and as you learn more about photography, you will get to use the lenses your in-laws gave you.
07-09-2010, 09:57 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Pentax is worth getting even if you don't have existing lenses. The lenses you have are certainly usable, but they are special purpose lenses - you'll still want to buy the zoom(s) that come with the camera for ordinary use.