Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-13-2010, 12:00 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Do I get a K-x or do I wait?

Hi, I'm completely new to DSLR's but after a lot of research (and lurking on these forums) I've decided that Pentax is the way to go for entry level DSLRs... I've been very interested in a K-x, it looks like a great camera for beginners. But the lack of AF points in the viewfinder concerns me a bit. From reviews I've read it bothers a lot of people. I'm not sure it would bother me too much as I've never used a DSLR before anyway.

Also, I keep hearing that Pentax may be releasing new camera's in the upcoming months, so far I've heard of improvements being made to the current K-x, a K-5 (?), then a K-7 "super" model, now I'm not interested in the K-7 or whatever model comes out above the K-7 as I'm only a beginner and those camera's would probably confuse me quite a bit. So I want to stick with the entry level models for now.

So to get to my point, should I wait and see what Pentax has in store for the upcoming months or do I just get a K-x now?

I really just want a better camera to get some nice shots of my pets which includes, among others, a hyper active German Shepherd Puppy, and my horse and since they tend to move extremely fast, would the current K-x be able to get some nice shots of them running around and whatnot?
lol no matter what it's probably going to be a night and day difference from my point and shoot to a K-x.

Sorry for being such a newbie but I figured it's better to ask before I make a decision.
Thanks in advance!

07-13-2010, 12:18 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
New cameras are *always* on the horizon - it's just a matter of when. No matter what camera you buy or how long you wait, it's going to be obsolete soon enough. Not really that worth waiting. Besides, it's usually a few months from announcement to availability. Could be more wait than you think.