Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-17-2010, 10:23 AM   #1

Sources for me and kids to learn k-x

Hi all. I'm still in the process of learning how to use my new K-x. I have no previous dslr experience so it is all new to me. My two boys, 12 and 14, have shown a lot of interest in it, so last night I started teaching them the basics on how to use it.

I was thinking that as I learn, they should learn with me, and they are excited about that. I am going to order Understanding Exposure but I figure at this point it would be silly not to wait until August 10th for the new edition. Does that book have little lessons in there?

Any other input for the easiest way for us to learn? I'm looking for tutorials to walk us through using each mode, and when and how to change what settings.

I appreciate your help!

07-17-2010, 11:13 AM - 1 Like   #2
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Start with P mode, but turn auto ISO off.

Now, select 200 ISO and go outside for one shot, and note the shutter speed and aperture the camera is selecting for you. Now, change to ISO 400, and notice how the doubled sensitivity affects your shutter speed and aperture, how the three elements are always related. Do this a bunch of times.

Now, switch to Av, aperture priority mode, and manually change your aperture, and notice how the shutter speed now changes with different apertures.

And do the same thing in Tv mode, manually changing the shutter speed to see how the camera now automatically changes the f stop.

I suggest manual ISO for all of this because it makes the exercise a little bit easier to understand.
07-17-2010, 02:29 PM   #3

Photos: Albums