Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-20-2010, 08:08 AM   #1

Should I buy a Pentax DSLR?

Hi,

I'm considering buying a DSLR camera to replace my Canon S3. I am new to the field of SLRs (have basic knowledge but do not know models, etc.).
After a few days of research I have Pentax K-x and Nikon D5000 as final candidates. From what I read I tend to favor the K-x over D5000 for price, weight and in body shake reduction.
However, my main concern is the future - I do not know Pentax as a brand, I don't know how good its cameras are (though I used to have a Pentax compact film camera when I was a teenager and it was great ).
I came here because (and despite the fact that) it is a place of Pentax fans and I could not find many people who really used Pentax cameras around. I want to know your honest opinion on the brand and the K-x specifically. Also, I would like to have some feedback on the lenses.
Additional question I have is about compatibility - if I buy the K-x with a 18-55 lens (and maybe also 50-200), will they be compatible with a future, more advanced Pentax camera? (given that I have the money some day...) Will I be able to replace the body only?

Please help me to convince myself it's a smart purchase

Thanks a lot!
Yotam

07-20-2010, 08:13 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by yotam Quote
Hi,

I'm considering buying a DSLR camera to replace my Canon S3. I am new to the field of SLRs (have basic knowledge but do not know models, etc.).
After a few days of research I have Pentax K-x and Nikon D5000 as final candidates. From what I read I tend to favor the K-x over D5000 for price, weight and in body shake reduction.
However, my main concern is the future - I do not know Pentax as a brand, I don't know how good its cameras are (though I used to have a Pentax compact film camera when I was a teenager and it was great ).