Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
07-23-2010, 01:45 AM   #1
Forum Member

Is this a fair critique of the Pentax brand?

Hi all I am a newbie in the Dslr world and am very happy to own a new Kx that has already given me some great results. I happened to suggest to another newbie on another non photography site who was asking about entry level Dslrs in the sub $800 range that they might consider a Kx and got this response from a "professional" in response to my suggestion. Is this fair - I just told the original poster to go read the reviews but I can't respond in any detail (not that I am planning to)?

QuoteQuote:
It has nothing to do with whether she will want a FF camera or not.

It is to do with the quality of the image produced. Canon puts their effort into quality rather than features. Also Canon has far better noise handling, so the extra ISO range is counteracted by the fact that the noise makes it less usable. She would be better off just shooting wide open with the 50mm f1.8 so she can use a lower ISO.

If she wants a camera with HD recording and all the other bells and whistles, then she is better off getting a coolpix, or a G10 or whatever the upper end P&S's are at the moment.

There is also the quality of the lenses - you get much better image quality for your money with a Canon lens than you do with any other brand.

There is a reason that Canon and Nikon own nearly the entire market. They are better cameras. Pentax and similar only sell to people who want cheap features at the expense of quality of camera.
Just wondering what other Pentaxians with a lot more experience and knowledge would have said?

07-23-2010, 02:51 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Obviously a Canon full-frame would have far superior noise handling to the K-x, but AFAIK, the K-x holds its ground very well as far as that goes.