Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-27-2010, 07:40 PM   #1

Digital Sensors

Hi all,

Well i know the differences between the film cameras and digital cameras but i still have some issues with the sensors...

First of all, i've already read and a friend explained the pros and cons of CMOS and CCD but i didn't ask about sizes and useful pixels. I mean, i get lost when i see charts and drawings of the different sensors, which are the useful areas and i definitely start to cry (not literaly) when i hear full frame.

After that, i start thinking how it may affect the sensor size with the focal length. I'm studying Filmmaking* so i understand that a lense with certain focal length behaves as a telephoto or wide angle depending when you change the film format. So, can anyone explain me what is the "1.5" (don't know if thats the correct number) difference of lenses when in digital photography?

*As some may know, i'm from Argentina. Don't really know if "Filmmaking" is the correct translation of the career i'm doing.
**Also, my sincere apologies with my English, i'm kinda rusty and it's quite hard when using technical words. If you see some TERRIBLE misspellings; please, let me know, i'll really apreciate the correction xD

07-27-2010, 08:03 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Sensors that are smaller than 24x36mm (the 35mm film format) change the field of view (or angle of view) of a lens from what it would look like on the larger sensor.

This change makes it look like the lens has a longer focal length (in reality the focal length never changes). This multiple of the focal length varies from brand to brand.

Pentax uses 1.5x, Canon is 1.6x I think, and Olympus, using an even smaller sensor, is 2x.
07-27-2010, 08:34 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by tehSancho Quote
Hi all,