Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-30-2010, 12:40 PM   #1

SMC-A 1.7; Photos and Question

I'm posting a few images here to share how impressed I am with my recently acquired SMC-A 1.7 and to ask a question about the mechanics of the lens. I'm new to the DSLR world and used my 18-55 kit lens exclusively for several weeks after my K-x puchase. The 1.7 is my first dip in the prime pool and I'm hooked! I've taken about 7 million shots so far, but this was one of my first and (although a bit on the boring side) it showcases what I love best about the lens: the sharp focal area that fades into OOF perfection.

All in all, I'm very happy with my purchase. There's a small issue with the aperture ring, though. It doesn't like to go past f11 or so. It will...sometimes. I've been able to set the aperture and capture images at every click, including 'A' - just not consistently. It's odd, sometimes she'll (are lenses "she"?) refuse, and other times capitulate. The lens is in exceptional condition otherwise, so I'm wary of using brute force to dial the aperture up. I'd hate to break it and take my chances on another copy. Any advice on how to gently loosen the aperture ring? Or should I just live with it? Suggestions and opinion welcome! TIA!

f/1.7 1/6000 ISO200 (original and crop)

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-x  Photo   
07-30-2010, 12:56 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If it works properly to f22 when in "A" setting then I am not sure its worth any chance of hosing it just so you can play around with setting the aperature manually. The A series was designed so you could always set it in-camera.
07-30-2010, 01:38 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by imtheguy Quote