Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-01-2010, 10:21 PM   #1

What are these spots on my photos?

I'm new to SLR cameras. The first night I had taken my Pentax K-x camera out, (about a week and a half ago now) I had seen these same couple of marks. I've tried using compressed air on both sides of the lens as well as the mirror and sensor in the camera. I've also lightly wiped off the front of the lens with a microfiber cloth and used the build in dust remover of the camera. I don't know what it is.

Here you can see two pictures taken just a few seconds apart from what I can remember. Look at specifically the top right area, but spots appear occasionally in other areas.
Name:  spots3.jpg
Views: 901
Size:  194.4 KB Name:  spots4.jpg
Views: 880
Size:  195.5 KB

Why does only one of them have the marks I'm talking about? Sometimes it's like that. Sometimes they will not appear at all. And it seems they ONLY appear during sky shots.

I don't know if this helps identify the location, but Sometimes the marks will appear more blurry than other times. See this next photo compared to the one above.
Name:  spots6.jpg
Views: 882
Size:  215.0 KB

If you'll notice, that string looking spot is in the exact same position in both photos, and they were taken days apart.

I am completely lost.

Attached Images

08-01-2010, 10:33 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Without a doubt that is dust on the sensor, please take this time to freak out and have a mental breakdown like I did

done? ok, turns out it's a normal part of DSLR ownership and is a necessary evil of having interchangeable lenses, there are a variety of cleaning techniques, I use the one Pentax recommends, using their own cleaning kit called the 0-ICK1. touching the sensor with a tool is scary, but does no harm if you do it correctly. Never use compressed air again though as it can damage the sensor. An air blower will be effective and safe, often all you need.