Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 21 Likes Search this Thread
08-07-2011, 07:48 AM   #76
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by wurbledood Quote
Hi guys, im new to the world of dslr's and chose pentax partly because of the possibility to use the m42 lenses (friends and family have a few i could use)
I've had a look around the site and seen the advice not to get the adapter with a flange on but when on amazon I found two which look identical, one makes no mention of infinity focus, the other says it is not possible, could anybody recommend one that will defiantly do the job? (there are non on amazon uk that guarantee they will work and have had some bad luck buying items off of eBay)
Wurbledood
You would want the get the ones without the flange so when the adapter is inserted into mount, it will stay flush with the mount.

08-07-2011, 11:17 PM   #77
Forum Member

This flange/no-flange advice is confusing. I'm looking at my M42-Kmount adapter right now. It's a genuine Pentax one. It has a flange and it sits flush. The Pentax literature says screw mount lenses will focus to infinity but, of course, open aperture metering and auto diaphragm operation are not possible. I can see that if the flange was any thicker or wider it would not sit flush, but a flange it is! Perhaps those with knowledge of third-party adapters could be more specific.
08-08-2011, 05:25 AM - 1 Like   #78
Veteran Member

Yes, the Official Pentax adapter and it's budget clones have small narrow flanges, which extend about 4mm from the adapter throat. And that flange can be ground down a little to be thinner if necessary -- I do that to use Exakta-mount lenses on my K20D.