Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-12-2010, 10:10 AM   #1
Inactive Account

2 or 3 lenses for newbie

Hi,
I am new to photography besides just point and shoot picture taking. I've decided to get a dslr, and learn about photography, because I'm tired of blurry pictures.

My uses for the camera would be many concerts, both outdoor festivals and indoor. Also nature photography, my pets and for our vacations.

I've been lurking around here and reading lots of posts about cameras, lenses, and photography. This is a great forum.

I've settled on the camera, I'm waiting for the K5 because I like the possibility of low light capability of the kx but the weather resisitance and build quality of the k7. If the k5 doesn't blend these qualities, I'll get the k7.

I would like to get the just the body along with a great zoom lens, (maybe 18-250 or 55-300) for the concerts, and nature, and one or two prime lenses for walking around. I'm willing to spend up to about 1K for the lenses, but really don't know enough to make a smart decision, or if there are good deals on cheaper quality lenses so I can save some bucks.

I'm a musician, and tend to buy quality gear and stick with it, and really learn how to use it. That's kind of the same mentality I have in regards to the photo equipment. I would like to get something of quality and really learn how to use it, without being able to blame the equipment for the crappy picture.

Sorry for the long first post, I wanted to be as specific as possible. Thanks in advance!

08-12-2010, 10:27 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The DA18-250 is a great all around lens but with the budget you have I would go a different route.

The DA 55-300 is good for concerts and general wildlife

For nature I would go with either a 28 or 35mm prime (DA12-24 if you want a zoom).

And for vacation/general purpose DA 17-70

That will put you probably a little bit over the 1k but that is just my opinion.