Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-14-2010, 12:02 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
newbie question with shutter speed.

hi... im just a beginner and i dont knw if this is a stupid question or what.... how would you know what shutter speed you should use if you're outdoor sunny, cloudy in shade indoor with bright lights or fair... lets say that the only aperture you are using with all the light condition is f2.8 and 100 ISO. do you really know what shutter speed you should use? or is it trial and error? how do the film users do it?

08-14-2010, 12:28 AM   #2
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think that your question has not a simple answer.

The shutter speed is largely linked with what you want to shoot. For example, if you want to photograph some sport action, you will need a relatively large shutter speed (1/50s or faster) to catch the action. If you shoot some running water (cascade, fountains, water sports), you choose either a fast shutter speed (1/80s or faster) to freeze in time the water droplets and splashing, or use a slower shutter speed (1/10 s or slower) to have some streamlines in your photo. For landscape on a tripod, you usually prefer to use a slow shutter speed.

The selection of a fast shutter speed implies that you have enought light: either with a good sunlight, a flash, or a large aperture (small f), or use a high ISO. A slow shutter speed gives you more flexibility to use a smaller aperture or lwoer ISO for example.

Altogether, the selection of the shutter speed cannot be dissociated with the selection of aperture and ISO.

Hope that the comments will help.
08-14-2010, 12:31 AM   #3
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by poogeek Quote