Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-16-2010, 01:37 AM   #1

focusing problems on k-x

hi all
have just bought my first dslr - pentax k-x and 18-50mm lens bundle
Having problems on focusing where the lens seems to take an age to focus - it drives in and then drives back out again - Do I have a setting wrong ?
Appreciate the help as I am a true noob !

08-16-2010, 01:57 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Are you using the live view mode where your picture shows up on the LCD screen full time? it sounds like you are

Because if so the default focus method in live view is super slow and you can simply change it in the settings, It's been a while since I sold my Kx so I can't remember exactly how. I'm sure someone else can outline the procedure for you

If you are looking through the viewfinder and are having problems, that just means the AF system can't handle the conditions, if it's too dark or you're trying to focus on an object that is one plain color and has no detail, then chances are the AF system just wont work and you'll have to use manual focus

to me it sounds like you're using live view for sure and there's a simple fix in the settings, it should be in the manual, you can try checking if there's a live view or focus mode section in the manual, I really wish I can remember exactly how to do it on the Kx but I know it's just a simple setting
08-16-2010, 02:23 AM   #3

Original Poster
thanks for the feedback future -
I am getting the problem with both - so will look through manual for the LV problem -

Will experiment with what I am focusing on to see if it is the conditions

Once again thanks for feedback
08-16-2010, 02:35 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
AF isn't perfect. As the K-x manual says:
QuoteQuote:
"Subjects that are difficult to focus on
The autofocus mechanism is not perfect. Focusing may be difficult
when taking pictures under the following conditions. These also apply