Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-24-2010, 10:54 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Red Tinge to Flash Pics

I have some experience with the K-x but very little with it and a Sigma 530 Flash. I took some pics of a baptism Sunday using the K-x, (software 1.0) on AUTO PIC, 18-55 AL lens, UV filter, Sigma 530 flash set at P-TTL and orientated to bounce about 70 deg with a hard plastic diffuser.

The lens is stamped "AL" but the EXIF data says "AL II" in Aperture but not iPhoto.

All of the pics were taken in a 40 minute period inside a church. If the lens was zoomed to >42mm the pics would have a strong red tinge with a few exceptions. All of the pics were from the same angle. An example of the Red Effect was taken at ISO 800, f 5.6,1/40, 55mm. Two examples that were OK for snaps, were at 800/ f 4.0,1/25,28 and 800,f 5.6. 1/30, 47.5.

If I was taking a pic at a different angle (90 deg to the right), all of the shots were satisfactory.

I'm thinking that the UV filter might not have been a good idea; I use it to protect the lens.

Suggestions to resolve this issue would be appreciated. Bill

08-24-2010, 11:13 AM   #2
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lose the filter.

And any chance you were bouncing your flash off a red wall or something else colored?

Remember that for best and most efficient results, you have to bounce off WHITE.
08-24-2010, 12:45 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Ira, the church had a ceiling over 20 feet and was an off white. The vestments were emerald green (off to the left) and there was a stained glass cross in the wall of the building further off to the left that had deep blue, purple and reds. The puzzle for me is why I could take a pic at about 55mm and get the red effect (almost like I had a red filter on the lens) and a minute later I could get a more acceptable coloration with the lens zoomed to 28mm or so without changing anything else.