Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-24-2010, 03:20 PM   #1
Forum Member

Workflow advice, please?

I have only had my camera for about a month and already I am collecting quite a gallery of photographs. I am, I think, reasonably good at weeding out the ones I dont like, or that have technical problems (such as I can discern) or just didn't work for whatever reason. But, given that I am new to this I am erring on the side of caution and inevitably I am keeping more than I need to. With the workflow I am using though I am ending up with triplicates and quadruplicates of the ones I have worked on and want to definitely keep.

My workflow goes something like this.

1) I am shooting RAW, and as I take shots I delete the ones, in camera, that are definitely out of focus, or tests shots.

2) Then I download the days folder to a folder I call DNG's on a portable hard drive.

3) I go through the shots using Irfanview and get rid of the ones that again I can say are defintely not worth keeping. I might end up with four of five similar shots of each subject, with different exposures or focus points or slightly different framing.

4) Then I open up the Pentax Digital Camera Utliity, and I mess with white balance and or exposure, and sometimes sharpen.

5) Then I save that shot as an 8 bit tiff, into a folder I call 'From PDCU'

6) I open the tiff in Photoshop 7, and crop and adjust and layer and mess mess mess.

7) Then I save that as a psd into a folder I call 'From Photoshop'.

8) I also save a tiff to the same folder, for archive.

9) For some of them I save a scaled down jpg so I can upload it to show on this site.

10) If I want to print the shot out I use the tiff.

Any comments on this work flow? Any tips on managing what I can see has the potential for building up into a mountain of photos very quickly?