Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-27-2010, 08:17 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Wide Angle Prime - DA or K/M/A?

I'm just getting into DSLR (having bought a K-x a couple of weeks ago) and was wondering, if I wanted a better quality wide angle prime lens than the kit 18-55 DAL, which would be a better choice, something like the DA 21mm F3.2, or one of the old pre-AF primes like say the M 20mm F4? From purely an image quality perspective. Things like AF and auto-aperture are of secondary importance for me (nice to have but not enough reason to drive the choice). Also film body compatibility isn't a big concern either (I have a couple of 28mm lenses that I can still use with my film body if I want to).

From looking at resources like the lens review database and various online markets that the cost for either an AF or a classic pre-AF in this focal length range is close enough that there isn't a clear winner based on price. But yet they are costly enough that I would want to get the best one based on image quality.

08-27-2010, 08:31 AM   #2
Pentaxian

I went through a similar exercise a few months back and ended up getting the DA 15mm Ltd. I'm very happy with it (I still want something in the 20mm FL though). My sense is that you're not going to be disappointed with the DA 21 either in terms of image quality or general utility/usability. I love my manual primes - that's mostly what I shoot - but the quality and convenience of the DAs is pretty awesome.

To my eye the images from my DA primes definitely look different than my vintage glass: more saturated (reds can look kind of off to me), nice contrast, etc. Not better or worse, just different.