Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
08-27-2010, 11:09 AM   #1
Forum Member

Anyone Had a K-7 For a while?

Looking for a good list of setting changes if any need to be made to get the most out of this camera. Should I be using the Highlight Correction in camera or is it best to just take care of it in PP? Any other setting changes you've found to get improved IQ from the K7?

I know all of this is a matter of personal preference but I'm looking for opinions as I'm so new to photography I havent had a chance to really form any. So of any of you could offer up what you find works I can go from there.

Thanks,
Mike

08-27-2010, 02:45 PM   #2
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have had my K-7 for nearly 9 months. I am an amateur and happy to share my limited experience within its context.

I use mostly the P mode, centre focus, AF-S (or MF) and JPEG-6Mp (sometimes RAW+).

I switch off all on-board corrections and I prefer to rely upon PP on computer. I do the PP with PDCU for basic PP, PTLens for lens distortion correction, Noiseware for noise reduction (at ISO 3200 & 1600), and Autostich for panorama.

I do a lot of Hi continuous shooting and I need to shoot long sequences: over 10-15 s typically. As a result I switch off all on-board corrections to get the longest sequences of Hi-continuous shooting (typically > 60 shots per sequence). I foudn further that the PP on computer gives me some much better control of the final images: the computer screen is much larger than the camera screen and you have more control with PDCU and other softwares.

Overall I am very happy with the IQ of the K-7 although I do no on-board correction of any kind. Note that the selection of the lenses is most important than any form of on-board processing, and I am glad that I invested into some good quality prime lenses. (The Nokton 58mm is a beauty!)

Hope that the experience will help...