Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-01-2010, 11:38 AM   #1

memory card full?

I am VERY new to Pentax and photography. If I have a 8GB SD card and have only taken about 30 pictures, why would it be telling me that my card is full??

09-01-2010, 11:45 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Best bet is that there is other stuff on the card. Copy the pictures to your computer, and then reformat the card in-camera.
09-01-2010, 11:45 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Did you format the card before using it? was there other stuff on the card before you started taking pictures with it?
09-01-2010, 12:13 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yes you say that you have only taken about 30 pictures. Is it possible that someone else has used the camera and taken something like three thousand other pictures? Before you check for images you may want to ask your brother first. Could be a bunch of nudes you would not care to see. If on the other hand your sister borrowed it... Post up!

Sorry. That is just a little funny to me. No offense.

I am sure by now you have come to a conclusion and remedied the situation but I hope you saved the 30 images to your pc before you formatted.

09-01-2010, 08:04 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter

Where did you get the card? If on ebay, there is a scam where by they take very cheap small cards (256K, etc.) and reprogram/relabel them to indicate to the camera that they are 8GB cards, however after a few images, you run out of room.

Now, there is also the potential, that it was just not formatted properly, and by having the camera format it (after saving your current images off on the PC), that everything will be alright.

01-30-2011, 11:04 AM   #6
Veteran Member