Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-06-2010, 07:10 PM   #1

Why Raw?

I'm a newbie K-x user. Formerly shot film with an ME Super. While I currently have the K-x set to capture Jpeg+Raw, I'm trying to understand what Raw does for me? Is there any parallel in the 35mm film world? I know the images data sizes are much larger so there is obviously more content in a Raw image. If anyone can offer a list of reasons to shoot Raw, it would be helpful.

I'm hoping to shoot a UCI Pro Tour cycling race later this week and would like to decide on what capture settings I should be using for such a rapid pace subject.

thanks

09-06-2010, 07:12 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I've heard people compare it to the negative on film i believe it was.... no clue about that as I don't shoot film, never have.

Basically it gives you more headroom in editing...
09-06-2010, 07:21 PM   #3
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by gkamieneski Quote
I'm a newbie K-x user. Formerly shot film with an ME Super. While I currently have the K-x set to capture Jpeg+Raw, I'm trying to understand what Raw does for me? Is there any parallel in the 35mm film world? I know the images data sizes are much larger so there is obviously more content in a Raw image. If anyone can offer a list of reasons to shoot Raw, it would be helpful.

I'm hoping to shoot a UCI Pro Tour cycling race later this week and would like to decide on what capture settings I should be using for such a rapid pace subject.

thanks