Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-06-2010, 08:23 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Newbie looking for the right first time SLR

*waves hello*

Hi everyone! I'm a jewelry designer who's been using a "pocket" canon SD700 for several years to take my jewelry photos. But I haven't been 100% happy with the macro quality I'm getting for a long time. Every time I see some amazing macro photo online, it seems to be taken with an SLR or DSLR. I like digital. It's very convenient for me to upload my jewelry photos. A photog friend of mine recommended Pentax. He likes the quality for the price, and mentioned I could pick up some older lenses for pretty inexpensive costs.

What I really want is a fairly light weight camera I can take good macro images with, and also pack with me on the family vacation to disneyland. Living in Oregon and taking my photos outside in natural light, weatherproofing would be a plus, because we get a lot of rain. My friend the pro uses a Pentax K20D, and loves it. He recommended I pick up a K-x body if I wanted to buy new, along with a good 50mm prime lense and an extension tube for when I want to do macro shots, as well as a "clear" filter because "they're cheap, and they protect your actual lense".

This all seems like very good advice to me. So, being excited, I looked around. At first glance, the only thing I don't like about the K-x is the AA batteries. I like rechargeable batteries for my camera - it was one of the reasons I bought the SD Canon over one of their Powershots, years back. But I can't afford the jump up to the K-7. Looking around it seems I could pick up a used K20D for about the same the K-x body would run me. Does this seem like a good idea? Or should I just own up to the AA battery and buy the K-x?

Thanks for any recommendations. Like I said, I'm a total newb, and a little intimidated by the DSLR world!

09-06-2010, 08:36 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery