Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
09-07-2010, 10:18 PM   #1

Looking for a macro lens for bug photography

hi guys, sorry about this being my first post, anyway...

id like to get into bug photography and i dont know what lens to get to fully cater my needs for this, i want to get really close up shots of bugs, other models will be used but "bugs" is the best description.

right now i have a kit lens that came with my camera, its the 18-55 one, it isnt really that great for macro.

i would love something i can stay at a small distance to the model/target im shooting and get a really great really close up shot of a bee or something!

id also like to get photos of ULTRA close stuff, say... inside a flower? would this be a separate lens?

im not a tight ass but i dont want to go to town spending money if i dont need to, im only an amateur but id still like something that does the job well.

what do you all recommend?
i have a pentax k200d camera

09-07-2010, 10:48 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You will get a lot of answers, here are some that I use..

Pentax A 100 f4 Macro - a set on Flickr

Pentax DA35mm Limited - a set on Flickr

Pentax DFA 100mm f2.8 WR - a set on Flickr

You'll find a few from the A50 f2.8 in here.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/13300089@N08/sets/72157622584832652/detail/

There are also options such as a front teleconverter (rayonox 250), Bellows, reverse mounting lenses, closeup lenses, etc.

Take a look here for some suggestions from some of the masters (a group which I am not yet a member of)..

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/groups/macro-photography/

09-07-2010, 10:50 PM   #3

Original Poster
whats the difference between the 35mm and the 100mm? one for zooming one for being at the scene?
09-07-2010, 11:05 PM   #4

Original Poster
what do you think about this lens?