Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-09-2010, 05:30 AM   #1

Astrophotography

I'm now an advanced beginner I guess (been nearly a year since I got my first dslr, the K20D - no previous experience with SLR). Anyway, I started experimenting last night with astrophotography. I really have no clue what I'm doing. lol

I set my camera on my tripod, turned the anti-shake off, set the ISO to 400, the drive to remote shutter, put on the 18-55 lens, F5.6, camera on manual. Set the lens to 55mm and the SS to the slowest possible setting. And of course on RAW. Aimed at the big dipper (or was it the little dipper?) and started snapping away w/the remote.

I got some so-so and some crappy results (sorry haven't processed them yet so I can't post). So basically, being completely clueless on how to do this my question is: What should I do that I didn't do? Lock mirror up? Change to my 70-300mm lens (I only have the two lenses)? What SS? What ISO? (I tried 800 and it seemed too noisy when I looked at it on the LCD). Also, how do you get the picture in focus? Maybe it's just me but when I looked through the camera to try and focus on something, I couldn't see squat, so I just winged it. lol

Okay thanks in advance for any tips you may have. I've also been searching the net for articles, so I'm open to links as well.

Thanks again!

09-09-2010, 05:54 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Keep in mind that stars do move, and that it's also important to use a relatively small aperture to preserve image quality. There are people on the forum better at this than I am, but I believe that iso 400 or 800, f8, and a shutter speed of several second should get the job done. The longer the lens, the better- my favorite focal length for the purpose is 300mm.
09-09-2010, 06:08 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote