Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-15-2010, 11:51 AM   #1

AF vs manual lens

First of all I am a complete newbee with SLR, all along had a point & shoot. I am getting a k-x and I have a question of zoom lens (I did not buy the bundle).

I know I can get the AF lens for 300mm but I saw ebay has many manual lens in that range for much lower price, especially second hand.

My question is, how easy will it be for a newbee like me to use a manual zoom lens. I know the camera supports it, but I really want to know the difficulty level in using it.

Will I get discouraged (I have good attitude to learn) ? What pitfalls should I expect ?

Or is this advisable to just make investment in an AF lens ?

Thanks !!!

09-15-2010, 12:06 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
MF zooms are no problem, but if it's an M or K lens (not an A lens, which is manual focus but has auto metering), then they get a bit tedious.

Check these resources for reference:
Pentax K-Mount Lenses Explained: The differences between various Pentax lens series
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-lens-articles/110657-how-use-manua...7-k-x-etc.html

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

09-15-2010, 12:42 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
If your subjects are not moving, like a building or landscape, then manually focusing is not so bad. However, once your subject starts moving, catching the proper focus becomes more difficult.

Many people on this forum only have manual lenses.
09-15-2010, 12:50 PM   #4
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter