Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-17-2010, 09:24 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Flash retard needs help...

So I have a K7, and this past weekend around a campfire I decided to break out the ol' popup flash and see what I could get. Normally I just crank up the ISO and try to deal with 1/4 sec shutter speeds.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that I could shoot at 400 ISO and 1/100 shutter speeds in the dark of night with flash!

So I started playing around with the shutter speed, aperture, ISO etc... What happened next I don't understand... Basically if I cranked up the shutter speed, and metered, nothing happened. I would have expected it to open the aperture. Or something. Basically, no matter if I was in Manual, aperture priority, shutter superiority, etc, it seems that the camera only adjusted metering by changing the power of the flash. I think?

Anyway, I basically don't have a clue how to control flash photography or how it's working....

'elp please...

Ken

09-17-2010, 09:29 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't have the K7, but this makes sense to me... the flash does not have a manual mode that I know of, so will fire however strong it needs to... it should fire a 'test' flash, meter and then the real one... really quick... you need something like the 540 before you can 'control' your flash in M-mode... unless there is some special option in the K7 I have never heard of...

Just adding one thing... you can change the EV + or - to 'control' the flash... ie if you select EV - 1 the flash will be weaker... etc
09-17-2010, 09:45 AM   #3
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by Javaslinger Quote
So I have a K7, and this past weekend around a campfire I decided to break out the ol' popup flash and see what I could get. Normally I just crank up the ISO and try to deal with 1/4 sec shutter speeds.