Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
09-18-2010, 08:29 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Value of swivel ?

Ready to purchase my first flash for my Pentax K100DS. Expect my usage to be light initially at least, general indoor use, and for macro (building device as seen in this Forum to direct flash to subject).

Have it narrowed down to either the Pentax 360AF or Metz 48AF primarily because they're in my budget range.

What I don't appreciate is what makes the "swivel" ability of the flash unit valuable to the photographer. Can someone give me a basic explanation as to why this is so.

Thanks for the advice.

09-18-2010, 08:40 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm not an expert and I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will have a better answer but in my experience the swivel is useful for 'bouncing' the light off a wall, ceiling or whatever rather than blasting the subject full on. It gives you more creative options.

If you are just taking snapshots at the family dinner then maybe not too useful but I would not have a flash without it.
09-18-2010, 08:59 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Go with the Metz 48. It has a better guide number (more powerful), has more features, and the swivel head is very important. It lets you bounce the light off of whatever surface you need to.

Also I have a Lumiquest QuikBounce and you mount that on the side of the flash. This makes it possible to have the camera in portrait position but still have the light from the flash in an upright position.