Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-21-2010, 10:39 PM   #1

K100D firmware update

Hi all,

Eaglem advised me to repost this query here, so here goes:-

I'm a rank amateur/beginner when it comes to cameras and photography, so it came as a bit of a surprise to me to find out that my Pentax K100D wouldn't accept the 4GB SDHC memory card I'd just bought.

After scanning the net, I soon discovered that I had to update the firmware. Mine is version 1.00 and it appears I need to download version 1.02 onto the camera. I've downloaded it onto my PC, so I'm ready for the next step.

That brings me to a few questions:
  • Is it advisable to do this on a K100D or should I just rather stick with 2GB SD cards?
  • I've re-charged my batteries as was advised on the Pentax download site, but can any other critical failures occur whilst installing the firmware and if so, what are they and can they damage or make the camera unusable? Also, how does one prevent them from happening?
  • Finally, is there a fool-proof step-by-step guide available to installing the firmware? I have found a few guidelines, but none that are written in an idiot-proof manner.
Hopefully one of you guys can point me in the right direction, because I'd hate to mess this up.

Cheers and thanks,
Vic

09-21-2010, 10:55 PM   #2

I had K100D before so I can confirm that SDHC works just fine with the firmware update. Don't worry, just follow the instructions provided and you'll be fine. Good luck.

Peter
09-22-2010, 03:30 AM - 1 Like   #3

Here is a copy of the directions I followed when updating my K100D

Updating Procedure
1. Provide a formated SD memory card for the update software (with at least 8MB
of available memory space).
The downloaded file is self-extracting.
The following files are extracted.
readme.txt : this document
fwdc156b.bin : Firmware
Copy the above Firmware file [fwdc156b.bin] to the root directory in
the SD card.