Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-23-2010, 08:43 AM   #1

General Lens Question

I'm a newbie here. I've been searching around with questions on lenses. I purchased my first dslr camera (k200) about 2 years ago roughly. It was sold at Ritz and they were going out of business. So I got a great deal. It came with the kit lens (18-55) and I got a steal on a quantaray LD 70-300 1:4-5:6 lens since everything was up to 75% off.

So far, I've been very happy with the lenses. However, I started shooting more and more weddings, and am finding the kit lens is not the best for weddings. (No sarcasm please! I've been told numerous times "You're shooting weddings with a KIT LENS????".

I started noticing that bridal party shots (outside) with the kit lens were not "crisp". Crisp as in old school film cameras. My wedding pictures are done with a film camera. The bridal party shot is crisp, even though the shot is far away. Its not that my pictures are fuzzy, or out of focus. Or that I'm not getting the settings right. The pictures look great, but lack that general crispness. And for weddings, I'd want something a bit better.

My problem is I'm not on a budget to drop $300 on a lens right now. If I had $300, I'd put it towards a k20.

I'd like a somewhat better lens than my kit lens....but still at a starter price. Some of those lenses out there are VERY pricey! And I know you get what you pay for. But I'd like to improve on my main lens. I think my Quantaray (70-300mm) is decent. Most people disagree with me on that one, but I'm pleased with my shots. So a zoom like that will have to wait to upgrade. I'd like something around my kit lens specs.

My problem is I don't know how to tell a good lens from a crappy lens. Its new to me. So I can look on ebay and wouldn't know a crappy $300 lens from an outstanding $100 lens.