Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-23-2010, 10:58 PM   #1
Forum Member

Two questions about K-x

Hello.

I'm new to photography and just about to buy my first DSLR. After reading lots of reviews I finally see the "one and only truth" in 600$ budget - Pentax K-x. So now I'm going to buy it. But before I do it, I need some advise regarding batteries and the camera itself.

I guess everybody knows that K-x is available in many colors. "Navy blue" seems to be very good, but white one is much better to me. I would buy it, but I'm concerned about its build quality - I have a bad experience with hardware having white plastic finishing. Does anyone here have WHITE K-x and if so, then please share your experience - does it have good build quality? Is it still shiny after months of usage or it becomes cracky and kind of grey?.. Or, otherwise speaking, is white K-x's build quality as good as black one or white plastic plays his negative role?

My second question is regarding the batteries. I would like to know which batteries are best to buy. Many of my friends recommend me "Sanyo Eneloops" and a decent charger (probably BC-700), but Eneloops have only 2000mAh capacity and as I know, DSLR drains batteries very fast. So will Eneloops' capacity enough to not to change batteries every 100-120 shots?

I'll be very grateful if someone helps me...

09-23-2010, 11:33 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't have a K-x, but I do know the K-x is built quite soundly, regardless of colour.
However as for whether the white colour can be easily soiled or not, I'd have no idea.