Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-24-2010, 12:01 PM   #1

Very confused about exposure

I am totally new to SLR, trying hard to learn. I have a k-x and these are some of the confusion I am having with exposure and metering

1) I have a manual focus non-A type lens (Phenix 50mm f1.7 to be exact). I followed the instruction here and managed to set it up and I can take pictures with it -- no problem there. Now, if I use M-mode (which is kind of only choice)

a) On a very sunnay day here in Chicago, outside in the Sun I went ahead to take close-up (less that 2 feet) on my flower to test the DOF. I had the lens set up at f1.7. When I pointed to blue sky and pressed the green button, I got a shutter speed of 0.3 sec !!! Can not be right, right ? Sure enough, the photos get burned when at 1/500. So is wrong ? From the book I read, aren't we supposed to get meter reading from blue sky above ?
To make matter much more confusion, if I select f22, I get the same shutter speed, although I can "see" that the lens is being stopped when I pressed the green button.

b) If I get reading off the flower, I get much faster reading, I think 1/3200 or something like that. But even at that, photos are over exposed. In fact, I did not get any decent picture even at the highest speed.
Does this is f1.7 is too much for Sunny day ?

2) Now, when I use the kit lens, I have another different confusion. If I use aperture priority under lower light (basement with overhead halogen type flood light), when I press the shutter halfway, the camera sets the shutter speed (as expected), and I get a reasonable photo. But when I use M mode, which exact same Aperture and shutter speed, under same condition, I get blinking EV warning (> 3.0).
Why is that ? Am I going something wrong ?

09-24-2010, 12:29 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery