Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
10-13-2010, 09:04 PM   #31
Pentaxian

Commit this chart to memory:

Sunny 16 rule - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

In time, it will be all the meter you really need. Also, turn on flashing highlights/shadows in your camera's menu. When a highlight is totally white with no detail, it will flash on the instant preview. Likewise with a shadow totally black.

10-13-2010, 09:41 PM   #32
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Obs Quote
After a couple of night shots with the k-x, I have come to the conclusion that metering using stop down via the +/- button is useless. I guess I just save my money for a good DA lens. Can anyone recommend a thread
I am also a newbie in digital photography. I just bought 2 lenses to cover all my need for now: DA 15 and D FA 100 WR. I take mostly landscape, portrait and macro. These 2 lenses produce superb IQ. You can go to the lens forum and look for
(1) DA15 controls my mind; (2) LBA D FA 100mm F2.8 WR.
10-14-2010, 12:44 AM   #33
Veteran Member

One cause for erratic exposures can be malfunction of the lens. Did you try only one lens? Have you checked that the aperture blades move freely and instantenously (at every f-stop)? Also a bent or stiff aperture lever can cause problems.
10-14-2010, 08:37 AM   #34
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by ovim Quote
One cause for erratic exposures can be malfunction of the lens. Did you try only one lens? Have you checked that the aperture blades move freely and instantenously (at every f-stop)? Also a bent or stiff aperture lever can cause problems.