Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
10-06-2010, 11:57 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Initial Pentax KX setup?

Hi everybody,

so my new Pentax KX is now on order from my local camera shop and should be with me within 2 weeks.

I have purchased a second hand Hoya polariser and a Kenko UV filter to get me started.

My question is........ is there any things i need to change in the setup on arrival of the KX before i start taking photos?
I know one thing i need to change is the autofocus to centre point but just wanted to know if there is any other essential changes i need to make to the KX before i use it?

I am new to dslr and to pentax so put it in easy terms please

Thankyou,

Ross.

10-07-2010, 12:49 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by roscopecotrain Quote
My question is........ is there any things i need to change in the setup on arrival of the KX before i start taking photos?
I know one thing i need to change is the autofocus to centre point
Not necessarily, depends all on your shooting style. Change if you prefer to center focus and recompose, otherwise, keep at 11 points or, for more accurate AF when subject is in the middle of the composition, 5 points is my preferred.

there is any other essential changes i need to make to the KX before i use it?
A good thing to check is the "custom image" settings, if you like to shoot JPGs. There you can select modes like "Bright" or "Vibrant" to see which ones you prefer. The default one select produces natural colors, but some find it rather dull and prefer more saturated images.
10-07-2010, 08:25 AM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

I have purchased a second hand Hoya polariser and a Kenko UV filter to get me started.

Ross.
Ross,

Filters in general have a negative impact on you image quality.
Sometimes this effect is worse than you might expect.