Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-10-2010, 10:35 AM   #1

Catch-in Focus questin on K-x

I'm still learning about all the features of my new K-x. Recently I tried to take some pictures using the Catch-in Focus Mode and I hope my camera isn't faulty.

From the description in the manual it appears that Catch-in Focus won't work with either of my two kit lenses - DA L 18-55 or DA L 55-300 - since they don't have AF/MF setting on the lenses. Am I correct on that?

But shouldn't it work with my Pentax-A 1:2 50mm F2? When I try, the camera only shows MF in the AF Mode box on the control panel and won't let me select AF.A or AF.S like I need to for Catch-in Focus to work. This happens in all modes, i.e. M, Av, Tv, Sv, and P. (I have set menu item 21 ON in the Custom Setting Menu.)

If it won't work with my 50 mm F2 lens, is there a relatively cheap (<$75) lens that I could buy that would let me use Catch-in Focus with either extension tubes or a snap on Raynox DCR-150 lens for macro pictures? I was hoping Catch-in Focus would enable me to get well-focused pictures of insects.

Thanks in advance for any help.

10-10-2010, 10:54 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Make sure your camera is in AF.A or AF.S before you switch it to your MF lens. It's one of those lame firmware bugs they still haven't fixed. And yeah, it doesn't work with autofocus lenses (even my Tamron 70-200mm which has an AF/MF switch on the lens). That's also on the wishlist...

If your AF mode is set correctly before you attach your 50mm, then it should work. The body AF/MF switch also needs to be on AF. Does it just take pictures even when you set it on the wrong focus?