Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-10-2010, 03:18 PM   #1
Inactive Account

K20D firmware update

Hi all.
I've been reading Pentax Forum for a long time but this is my first time to pose a question.

I use a k20D with a variety of lenses, mostly from Sigma.

My question: i recently downloaded a firmware update [v1.04 for K20D]. I've never tried a firmware update before, and i'm just a little nervous about messing with something that i won't be able to reset.

So my questions [just realized i have two:
1. Is this update worthwhile?
2. Is there anything that can go wrong once i start the process?

Thanks for the advice / ron

10-10-2010, 03:40 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum.

I my experience the upgrade is worthwhile. The shake reduction is much improved as from firmware 1.03. With the older firmware I ahd a hard time getting sharp images with the K20D.

The instructions should be included with the downloaded file. Make sure that the battery is fully charged before upgrading.
10-10-2010, 04:05 PM   #3
Inactive Account

I would say it depends on where you are now. Press Menu while turning the camera on and it will tell you what your version is. If it's anything less than 1.03 then go ahead with the update. If not, and the camera is working, I say if it ain't broke, don't fix it. I think the 1.04 firmware was just to address some issues with different types of SD cards.

Of course, do what you like but heed the warning to make sure your battery is fully charged and follow the instructions packed with teh FW file to the letter. The whole process shouldn't take more than a few minutes.

10-10-2010, 04:06 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Ole Quote
Welcome to the forum.

I my experience the upgrade is worthwhile. The shake reduction is much improved as from firmware 1.03. With the older firmware I ahd a hard time getting sharp images with the K20D.