Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-11-2010, 06:25 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Photographing local school spring fair

Hi, so I've (insanely) volunteered to photograph our local spring fair at my daughters school. I've made them well aware that I am only an amateur and not to expect perfect shots. I've just been given the list of photos they want taken, mostly acts by the students, plus some atmosphere shots, stalls and one of the mayor with the principal, this one may be printed in the local paper. One of the shots mentioned was kids on the jumping castle, will I just use fast shutter speed + onboard flash for that, to freeze movement? At the moment besides my K-x, I only have a tripod and kit lens (18-55) plus a new to me, tamron 18-250 lens (chose that because I didn't want to have to swap out lens all the time). I'm as nervous as all heck about it, as I want to take decent photos for the school. Can anyone give me any handy tips? Has anyone else shot a school fair?

10-11-2010, 06:57 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't have any experience with a large function like that but I can't imagine it being much different from a large family function. Your Kit lens will probably get you most of what you need unless you are far away from the action.

As for stopping action in the jumping room, you're on the right track. Take a few test shots, you max shutter speed with the built in flash will be 1/180s, to get a good aperture (probably around f8), and fire away.

K20d, FA31 Limited, AF540 flash, 1/60 sec, f5.

The camera lens and flash are kind of irrelevant here, the exposure info is the point of showing you the photo.

10-11-2010, 07:32 PM   #3
Veteran Member

good luck. I recommend bringing lots of batteries.

the flash will likely be on for 90% of your shots even those taken outdoors aka fill flash.

Last edited by Reportage; 10-11-2010 at 07:47 PM.
10-12-2010, 04:32 PM   #4