Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-13-2010, 08:25 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Novice need help.

Hello,

Firstly thankyou for taking the time to look at this.

I am a complete novice to dslr and have purchased a KX, i am really enjoying the Kx and so far i have taken some great shots, close ups, portraits but so far i am having trouble with landscapes.
When i take the photo of either in the day or sunset no matter what i do i seem to get the landscape really dark, the sky looks amazing but the landscape is dark with no detail at all.
Now there maybe a simple solution to this but i am a novice and i am not sure what im doing.
I have tried various apertures and shutter speeds and also different metering methods but to no avail.
I tried metering the landscape in case that was the problem but that just blew out the sky.
Sorry if this is a simple problem but i just cant seem to get them right. As i said portraits and close up work have come out perfect so far.
Thanks in advance for the help.

Ross.

10-13-2010, 08:52 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Ross.

It would be a good idea to post some sample shots (complete with exif data).

At the moment, and despite the fact that you say you've tried different metering methods, it looks like it's a metering issue.

You can adust the exposure in-camera; look in your manual for 'EV Compensation'.

In my experience Pentax cameras do tend to under expose, hence the dark landscape.
10-13-2010, 08:53 AM   #3
Veteran Member

One way to avoid your problem is to aim the camera down, use the AE-L button to lock the exposure, then recompose and shoot. But the sky might be washed out because the sensor DR is not large enough to capture bright spot and shadow area at once.

You could also use a tripod and use exposure bracketing to take more than one picture at different EV and composite them in a program like Photoshop, Photoshop Elements or the like.
10-13-2010, 08:53 AM   #4