Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-17-2010, 07:23 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Help using Tamron 90mm macro lens!

Hi I just received my Pentax k-x last night and tried using the DA15mm, Sigma 17-70mm and Tamron 90mm macro. The DA15mm was fairly easy to use and my favourite lens so far. But I have a hard time figuring out how to use the Tamron since I'm a newbie to DSLR. Here's my questions, sorry if they sound n00bish:

1. What is the difference between the Full and Limit switch?

2. When I auto focus, sometimes the lens adjust the focus continously or adjust then stop, but I can't take a picture and there's a flashing icon in the viewfinder, does that mean the object can't be focused? Would moving back help?

3. For shootings macros, is it better to use the macro mode or AV mode? For AV mode, it it better to use a low f-number so I can use a faster shtter speed to avoid shaking?

4. I find it hard to avoid camera shake handheld shooting through the viewfinder, would it help to shoot macros through the live view?

5. In general, what settings should I use for AE metering, highlight and shadow correction? Is it better to have multi segment for landscape and centre for other things? What is spot used for?

Lastly, auto white balance seems to wrong indoors even during the day and i find it more accurate under daylight or cloudy....should I always adjust them indoors?

Sorry for so many questions and I would appreciate some help.

Thanks
Aaron

Last edited by catastrophe; 10-17-2010 at 07:58 PM.
10-17-2010, 08:22 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by catastrophe Quote
Hi I just received my Pentax k-x last night and tried using the DA15mm, Sigma 17-70mm and Tamron 90mm macro. The DA15mm was fairly easy to use and my favourite lens so far. But I have a hard time figuring out how to use the Tamron since I'm a newbie to DSLR. Here's my questions, sorry if they sound n00bish: