Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-23-2010, 11:46 PM   #1
Forum Member

Quick Guide to Shutter Speed/Aperture/ISO

I've been using a DSLR for about four years...

For three and a half of them, I used it as a glorified P&S.

The reason? I never bothered to learn how to use the manual settings. Knowing what I know now, I was missing out on quite a bit. Manual mode is FUN. And honestly, you can be up and shooting in about 5 minutes once you grasp the concepts behind it.

There are three dependent settings, and one independent meter that all work together to give you a proper picture. They are:

Shutter speed
Aperture
ISO
Meter

To be honest, at its most basic level, there are really only two "knobs" to turn to really change the effect of the picture. They are the shutter speed and aperture.

Very simply stated, shutter speed will allow you to take those cool pics with motion blur (flowing water pics, car lights, etc...), and aperture will allow you to play with depth of field (really blurry backgrounds or really clear backgrounds).

ISO, on the other hand, doesn't really do anything "cool" to the picture (unless you're going for that old-school grainy filter look - but that's another story). ISO just allows you to play with the other knobs with more possibilities.

Finally, there is the meter. This is that number inside the viewfinder that tells you when the settings are correct for a given amount of light.

The best way to do this is with an example.