Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-31-2010, 06:54 AM   #1

completely new - buying kit, or body and lens's ?

hiya, I am looking to buy Pentax K-r .. I want to take family portraits and kid shots, as well as the occasional landscape. I have no knowledge of lenses whatsoever. A lot of my photos will be used as base ideas for oil paintings and pencil portraits, as well as the general keepers for family stuff.
My query is .. with the Pentax K-r ... I can purchase the twin lens kit, or a body and two lenses I guess - what are BEST beginner lenses for portraits and general photography? Thanking you in advance .

10-31-2010, 07:56 AM   #2
1,000,000th Poster!

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'd say stick with the kit lenses at first since you're a beginner.
The 18-55 and I suggest the 55-300 if you wish telephoto.
It'll give you some experience. One thing, try to keep track of the focal lengths:
Once in a while, try to shoot with your zooms without changing the focal length.
For example, a whole day at 35mm. It will give you an idea of what shooting with a prime lens is like.

You will find what focal lengths you're comfortable with.

When you have more of a clear idea of what you enjoy, you can start looking at lenses to maximize your image quality.
The two kit lens kit will give you 90% of the focal lengths you would ever require. Later on, you can go ultra-wide or extremely long if this is your interest.
10-31-2010, 08:23 AM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Get the twin lens kit- it's a steal and is really everything that a beginner needs!
10-31-2010, 09:40 AM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
Get the twin lens kit- it's a steal and is really everything that a beginner needs!
+1 The Pentax kit lenses are pretty darned good.

10-31-2010, 09:42 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter