Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-03-2010, 04:42 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Just won a Super Takamur 50mm/1.4

I've never used an M42 mount lens before and wanted frank opinions about which adapter to use. All my other lenses are K mounts and I understood that with some of the less expensive Adapters its possible to, essentially, permanently mount the adapter to the M42 lens thereby making it a K mount functionally.

Thanks!

11-03-2010, 04:49 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Don't mess about, get the real deal, the Pentax M42 adapter. Some of the cheaper options will lose infinity focus. The lens is quite easy to use on a Pentax dslr, set the aperture, press the green button, focus and take the shot
Enjoy the tak, its a lovely lens, great contrast, bokeh, and a seriously smooth focussing ring!
11-03-2010, 04:56 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by robbiec Quote
...set the aperture, press the green button, focus and take the shot .
Make sure the lens is in M mode.

If the camera is in Av mode, there is no need to "press the green button."

Sometimes it's easier to focus (at full aperture), set the aperture, take the shot.
11-03-2010, 06:13 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by robbiec Quote
Don't mess about, get the real deal, the Pentax M42 adapter. Some of the cheaper options will lose infinity focus.
If you don't get the Pentax M42 adapter now, you'll get it later. Granted, it's more expensive than the cheapies you can find elsewhere, but it is well worth it!

11-04-2010, 01:53 AM   #5
Ira
Inactive Account

A few points:

1) M42s will consistently underexpose on the K-x in Av mode, which is why I always shoot in M.