Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-04-2010, 09:21 AM   #1

Time exposures with a K-7

Hi, I'm new to the forum. I have been using film cameras for many years and am seriously thinking about changing to digital. I cut my teeth with a Practica LTL and then moved on to a K1000, which is a fabulous camera. I also use a Mamiya RB67 and my main passion is photographing trains. I've always had great success with night photography using time exposures. My preferred method has always been low ISO, stopped down lens and long exposure on daylight slide film.
The camera that most takes my fancy at the moment is the K-7. My question is, can I take long exposures, I'm talking several minutes, and how will it cope with these long exposures?
I've attached a couple of examples, the top one was 6 mins @F16, the second one was 90 seconds @F11.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Attached Images

11-04-2010, 10:02 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
While I don't own a K7, I do own a k10 & k20 and I believe this to be an accurate statement. I think you will find that the K7 (and a lot of other DSLRs), have a maximum time setting of 30 seconds. However, as the K7 (and others) have a bulb setting you can use this for much longer time exposures (I've done exposures of 3 to 6 minutes at times). You will need either a remote shutter release which is the best because you can lock it just like a cable release on a film camera or a wireless trigger - not as good because you have to hold it on to keep the shutter open. There are other things to consider too on time exposure such as turning off noise reduction and buffer recovery times but that's another topic. Bottom line answer is yes you can do this.

Nice train photos!
11-04-2010, 10:09 AM   #3
Inactive Account

10 seconds at f8 ISO 100

20 seconds at f8 ISO 100

[IMGTALL]http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4017/4386942158_a4503d2c68_o.jpg[/IMGTALL]