Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-04-2010, 03:04 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Christmas pictures

In an effort to do something for my kids school, one of the organizers asked me if I would be their photographer for their "Breakfast with Santa". Basically they are running out of time, and need a photographer to do the pictures of the kids sitting on Santa's lap. I've not given them a OK, but I'm considering it. It's a volunteer thing, so they will pay for my supplies. (ink, paper, etc) I've never done anything like this before, so who knows. I'm planning on taking my shoot through umbrella, extra batteries, etc. I think they print on the spot, so my thinking is take 20-25 shots, load them on my laptop, get them printing, then shoot some more. I've got 2 memory cards, so I don't think doing this should be an issue. The first year they did this, we went with out kids, and they were only using a polariod camera, so my K7 will be leaps and bounds above that level.

Anyone got any tips on doing an event like this? They are estimating about 150 kids. Is there any flaw in my basic thinking above, or can you think of something that may work better / different?

11-04-2010, 04:22 PM   #2
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Wow! What an assignment!

Good luck!

I have no advice to offer, because this sounds like a real PITA.
11-04-2010, 04:37 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Thanks for the support Ira! The things we do for our kids. Maybe I'll get lucky and someone will like the work, and maybe I'll get some work out of this.
11-04-2010, 05:54 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Don't forget the ink!

11-04-2010, 06:52 PM   #5
Pentaxian

I would try to separate the shooting and the printing.

The best is to have the kids picking up the prints the next day, or the next next day. That gives you some time for simple post-processing if needed and significantly reduces the stress.